The eight learning areas are:

  1. English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science
  4. Humanities and Social Sciences (including History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business)
  5. The Arts
  6. Languages
  7. Health and Physical Education
  8. Technologies

These learning areas remain broadly consistent with the Australian curriculum but have been modified to suit Western Australian teachers and the children they teach.

Please refer to the Dept of Education (Schools Curriculum and Standards Authority) WA website for full details of the curriculum.